Removing Volumes

Explains how to remove a volume using either the Control System or the CLI.

Note: When you remove a volume enabled for:
  • Cold tiering, the directory/folder for the volume in the metadata volume associated with the tier is also removed asynchronously.
  • Warm tiering, the directory/folder for the volume in the metadata volume associated with the tier and the erasure-coded volume are also removed asynchronously.

Removing Volumes Using the Control System

To remove one or more volumes, in the Summary tab under Data > Volumes:
Note: The Volumes page is under the Volumes menu in the Kubernetes version of the Control System.
  1. Select the volumes to remove from the list of volumes in the Volumes pane.
    Note: Alternatively, you can click the name of the volume to traverse to the volume details page.
  2. Click Remove Volume(s) from the Actions drop-down menu.
    The Remove Volume(s) confirmation dialog displays.
  3. Choose one of the following:
    • Remove only if there are no dependent artifacts — Specifies whether to check for dependencies before removing the volume. If the volume has dependencies, such as associated snapshots, the volume will not be deleted, but an alarm will be raised.
      Note: Volume will not be deleted if mirroring is in progress as the mirror volume is synchronized from a hidden internal snapshot of the source volume.
    • Force remove even if there are dependent artifacts — Indicates that volume must be removed forcefully, even if the volume has dependencies.
  4. Click Remove Volume.
    The selected volumes are removed.

Removing Volumes Using the CLI or REST API

The basic command to remove a volume is:

maprcli volume remove -name <volume name>

For complete reference information, see volume remove.

Note: When a volume is removed, the data present in that volume is not purged from the filesystem immediately. The following parameters control when the deleted volumes are purged.
  • cldb.purge.delay.hours — Time to wait (in hours) to trigger purge of any volume after CLDB becomes master. The default value is 1 hour.
  • cldb.volumes.purge.frequency — The frequency (in minutes) for purging the data of deleted volumes. The default value is 60 minutes.
    Use the maprcli command to set these parameters. For example:
    maprcli config save -values {"cldb.purge.delay.hours":"2"}
    maprcli config save -values {"cldb.volumes.purge.frequency":"120"}