Removing one or more Snapshots

Explains how to remove a snapshot using the volume snapshot remove command or using the Control System.

Each snapshot has a date and time at which it expires. You can remove a snapshot manually before its expiration, or you can preserve a snapshot to prevent it from expiring.

Removing Snapshots Using the Control System

To remove one or more snapshots, in the Snapshots tab under Data > Volumes:
Note: The Volumes page is under the Volumes in the Kubernetes version of the Control System.
  1. Select the snapshots to remove.
  2. Click Remove Snapshot.
    The Remove Snapshots confirmation dialog displays.
  3. Verify the list of snapshots to remove and click Remove Snapshots.
    When you remove a snapshot, the snapshot is removed from the system and cannot be restored.

Removing Snapshots Associated with a Volume Using the Control System

To remove one or more snapshots associated with a volume:

  1. Log in to the Control System and go to the Snapshots tab in the volume information page.
    The list of snapshots associated with the volume displays.
  2. Select the snapshots to remove and click Remove Snapshot.
    The Remove Snapshots confirmation dialog displays.
  3. Verify the list of snapshots to remove and click Remove Snapshots.
    When you remove a snapshot, the snapshot is removed from the system and cannot be restored.

Removing Snapshots Using the CLI or REST API

The basic command to remove a snapshot is:

maprcli volume snapshot remove

For complete reference information, see volume snapshot remove.